About XCS

St. Xavier’s College is an institution that transforms lives. It teaches students to break paradigms, aspire higher, and raise the bar each time. Aptly its motto is ’Nihil Ultra’ - Nothing Beyond. The College was founded in 1860 by the Society of Jesus, with the ideal of “Magis” - for the better, the greater; it has completed 157 years of excellence. Its commerce department, where brilliance is a way of life, has been home to luminaries like L.N. Mittal, Sunil K. Khaitan, Noomi Mehta and Sanjiv Goenka.

The Xavier’s Commerce Society is one of the most active societies in the college with its motto “Dreams. Development. Destiny.” It enjoys a strong following among three thousand students of the Commerce Department. The society now proposes to take its activities a step further by organizing more innovative events on a larger scale. We wish to make it clear that a business society does not imply a mere consortium for leisure. It signifies an effort of initiating students to another avenue of knowledge. The society, by organizing holistic events throughout the academic year, strives to ensure that every student is taught critical lessons before stepping into the corporate world.

Celebrity Associations

Shah Rukh Khan

Sachin Tendulkar

Kanan Gill

In the past, the Xavier’s Commerce Society has had associations with numerous eminent personalities. The annual journal, Youthink, has featured interviews from Shah Rukh Khan, Lord Jeffrey Archer, Narayan Murthy, Shashi Tharoor, Sachin Tendulkar, Suresh Raina, Sushma Swaraj, and most recently, Brett Lee. It has also received an acknowledgement from the Indian Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi.

Renowned stand-up comedians such as Biswa Kalyan Rath, Kanan Gill, Kenny Sebastian, and Papa CJ have performed at Insignia, the international level management festival organized by the society every year in February. Insignia has also been host to celebrities such as Rahul Bose, Suhel Seth, Tanmay Bhat, and TVF Pitchers, among others.

Intelligentsia, the society’s annual panel discussion has featured personalities such as Mr. Utpal Chatterjee, Mr. Abhishek Mazumdar, Mr. Prasun Chaudhary, and Mr. Varun Agarwal, to name a few.